Mahra win Polo Masters Cup for second consecutive year

Sport360 staff 00:11 15/02/2017
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

At Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club, Rashid Al Habtoor, Daniel Gariador, Juan Ruíz Guiñazú and Jerónimo del Carril inspired Mahra to a 8-4 win to retain their title.

It was a deserved victory for Mahra, who made a positive start to the championship decider.

In the first chukker, they were leading 3-1, before extending their lead to 7-2. In the third, they increased their advantage before Habtoor fought back with two goals.

But Mahra did enough to hold on for the victory. There was more reason to celebrate for del Carril, who took home the Most Valuable Player award, after he and Ruíz Guiñazú were the top scorers with four goals each.

Quini, owned by Mahra and played by Guiñazú in the fourth chukker, also won the Best Playing Pony award.

Meanwhile, Bin Drai took third place in the competition after defeating Wolves Polo.

Leading 2-1 in the first chukker, Bin Drai upped the ante in the second, scoring three more times.

Wolves got back into the game with two goals but Bin Drai continued their momentum to hold a five-goal lead in the third.

Both sides gave it their all but Bin Drai held on to win 9-6, with Raúl Laplacette finishing as the top-scorer with six goals.

The Polo Masters Cup is a 14-goal handicap tournament played under the umbrella of the Dubai polo Gold Cup series.

Know more about Sport360 Application


Most popular

Related Sections